Pages

Showing posts with label Dessert. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Dessert. Show all posts

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Fctry Bistro & Bar

Hey hey heyyyy

Agak bosen ya sama post Jepang melulu... Break sedikit, kali ini gw mau post review mengenai.... Fctry Bistro & Bar!!!

Sebenernya sih Fctry ini bukan pemain baru.. Cuma emank gw yang ketinggalan zaman aja (maklum blogger ga kondang jadi ga di invite media gathering) Nah setelah ini tempat muncul di berbagai blog dan insta nya orang-orang, akir nya penasaran juga deh ya bagaimana rasanya. Jadi.. di sebuah minggu yang cerah meluncurlah gw ke sana..

Tempat nya di Lippo Mall Puri, St Moritz. Lokasi nya yang di outer part of the mall sama decor nya yang banyak natural light dan agak rustic emank instagenic banget ya. Pantesan aja ini tempat hits..

Langsung aja ke yummy yummy nya.. Dimulai dengan yang gratis tentunya hahahaa

 Complimentary bread

Roti nya lumayan sih (mgkn saya lapar...) yah decent lah, cuma mentega nya kurang banyak

Spaghetti Al Funghi (85K IDR)

Yummmm!!! Sebagai sebuah tempat yang bukan italian restaurant, pasta nya sih enak bener. Al dente, creamy mampus tp ga eneg dan porsi juga cukup besar. Enough herbs to neutralize the creaminess of the sauce and the mushrooms are so flavorful. Not to be missed!

Big Brunch (120K IDR)

Sepiring besar breakfast set (yang menurut gw ga besar besar amat) hihihi... Okay.. Sausage nice! Bacon NO, sedikit smelly, terlalu tebal dan ga crispy. Mushroom yes yes yes! Fluffy egg... Kenapa sih ga pake scrambled egg biasa aja.. dan si rosti nya super oily :(

Dopenuts (25K IDR)

This is so goooooddddd. Donut yang tengah nya ga bolong dan ga pake filling, atas nya pake black sea salt and honey cream, gila mantaps abis. Sweet as sin, smooth as silk and fluffy as cotton.

Will I come back? YES!

Rating: 7.5/10
Location: Lippo Mal Puri, Jakarta

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Lost in Japan: Tokyo - Part 2

Another post from Tokyo!!!!!

Sleeping in Tokyo is so comfy. Maybe because I was too tired from all the walking the night before, or maybe the cool weather? One thing for sure I didn't get up until 9 A.M. Truthfully, I'm not those holiday-nazi (read: Dr Cakra) who wakes up early morning in a vacation for the sake of visiting all the places in the itineray. I'm more laid back, kinda lazy I might say LOL

So after a long process of waking up and taking a shower, I was ready for the first full day in Tokyo. Destination: Ueno Park - Hanami

But first... BREAKFAST!!!!!!


Deef fried chopped potatoes and rice balls with ham from Lawson

Just steps from Yanagibashi Hotel, we found this fast food kinda place (small joint, vending machine to order, cheap) that sells gyudon, curry and other japanese set menu. At first I thought it was some random personally owned restaurant, later I found out that it was Matsuya, a japanese fast food brand like Yoshinoya and Sukiya. Ordering here is pretty easy (my first time using japanese vending ordering machine), I'll jot down the steps below


1. Find the button to change the language into English.
2. Browse the menu first using the touchscreen interface. Every menu has a clear picture and short english description
3. Put your money into the machine (you can use coins and 1000 JPY note)
4. Choose the food by using the touchscreen interface.
5. After the machine make sure that correct payment has been made, it will give you the change and print out small tickets containing your order.
6. Give the ticket to the waiter

Let's get straight to the point. IMO Matsuya is yummm. Gyudon and curry quality is the same or maybe better than Sushi Tei in Jakarta. Waiting time is less than 10 minutes. Refillable water provided using jug. Food portion is big (If you are not that hungry or a girl with less apettite than me, I suggest you order the smallest possible portion)


 One of Matsuya's best seller - Gyudon (stir fry sliced beef in soy sauce with onion, grated turnip, scallion and soft boiled egg) The flavor is well balanced, rice a bit mushy and need a bit more shoyu. Break the egg for some gooey goodness, mix well with the rice and meat. The messier the better.


 Rice with minced meat in red sauce and a sunny side egg

The red sauce is a bit spicy, so so far from the chilies and sambals from Indonesia. IMO, the combination is off, I don't think I'll ever order this dish again.

After breakfast, we were rushing to Ueno Park for Cherry Blossoms viewing. From Asakusabashi station, we change twice using the JR Pass. First go to Akihabara Station using the Sobu Line (Yellow) and then take Yamanote Line to Ueno Station. All of the trip is covered by JR Pass so our super expensive JR Pass was very usefull. Ueno Park is located right in front of Ueno Station.  All you need to do is exit to the gate and walk across the road.

By the time we arrived, Ueno Park was already crowded. Since it was also Japanese's holiday week, the place was super packed!!  From grandmas and grandpas but also kids from Kindergarten to university students. The view is exactly what I've imagined from watching all those japanese anime, movie and manga. Lots of people are already sitting under the Sakura trees with some beers, snacks and bento boxes. This Hanami is really unique! Being a very clean and organized country, even though it was a mess and packed, there's no litter anywhere. The park's administration provides many many garbage dump site and categorized by the type of trash. Coollll



The sakura hasn't reached the full bloom when we went there. Many trees are still in their winter form, bald and dead. Fortunately, some spots has already bloomed, not bad for photos LOL I gotta admit, it was beautiful. Even though my first sakura encounter is not that impressive, I was still awed by the beauty. It's very Japan, the flower was delicate and beautiful, not eye catching like roses but more subtle and soft. It was magical...

 Snack sold inside the park


Ueno Park is quite big.. There are paths lined with sakura trees, small shrine and some picnic area. There are also a medium sized temple near the park. Do remember to get the free Ueno Park Guide since it will help a lot during walking around the area.I think there are more than one museum in the area, if you guys have the time I think it'll be good. We had to choose between visiting the museum or visiting the zoo. Sorry museum, Zoo with Panda won us LOL


To visit the Panda, just go straight from the park entrance, at the end of the road you'll find the Ueno Zoo. The zoo is not that big but very well organized. The star of the zoo was the Pandassss. The first thing we do is find the Panda Exhibit and it was the first exhibit from the entrance. We had to queue to get closer to the exhibit. Worth the money and the wait... Not long after watching Kungfu Panda, we can see 2 real pandas at Ueno Zoo. Too bad the panda was sleeping when we visited but still the stupid pose Panda has when sleeping is soooo C.U.T.E

After Ueno Park, we went to visit the Meiji Jingu Shrine. Meiji Shrine is a shrine dedicated to the deified spirits of Meiji Emperor and the Empress Shoken. (Source: Japan Guide) We entered the shrine from the entrance closer to Yoyogi Station (use Hyperdia) It was the wrong decision... It was so far and the roads are not asphalt so it was very tiring. It took us around 20 minutes from the entrance to reach the main building. It only took us 5 minutes to get out through the north entrance near Meiji Jingu Station.


I am not a temple/shrine afficionado so I didn't find it that interesting. Compared to Hongkong's or Bangkok's temple, Japanese temple are rather simple. The interesting features are the Torii Gate (A mark to separate sacred grounds from profane world) and the purification trough (A sink like structure with water fountains and wooden/bamboo laddle, it was used to purify the hand and mouth of shrine visitors before entering the shrine's main building). Some shrines have big Ema (A hanger for wooden plates on which prayers are written) and also sells various amulets. The temple building itself is quite simple, maybe related to the different concept of Shinto-ism and Buddhism.

When we visited the Meiji Shrine, there are two wedding ceremonies happening at the same time. It was such a rare opportunities to watch a traditional wedding ceremony at the temple. For a moment there I felt "serene".


After taking a little walk around the shrine, we walk towards the north entrance.. Found this huge sake barrels. The Sake Barrels are offerings from various people and companies around Japan. The barrels were sooooo cool. Feels like living in an anime (please forgive the geek in me)


Next... Omotesando!!!!

Just outside the Meiji Jingu lies the great street of Omotesando. This part of Tokyo is my fave. Too bad I didn't much time here, If I have the chance to go back to Tokyo, I'll dedicate a whole day to explore this neighbourhood.

The streets are full with cafes, shops and department stores. People are everywhere and do pay attention to where you walk or you'll be hit. Let the food hunt begins!!!!


This is The Gindaco, a popular takoyaki (A ball shaped fried/grilled snack made of flour, eggs, octopus and topped with shaved dried bonito/katsuoboshi and mayo) joint around Japan. My first and best encounter of Takoyaki during the whole trip. The takoyaki is big and a bit crispy at the outside but gooey at the inside. What I love about their takoyaki is the takoyaki doesn't lose its shape when you eat or bite it. The other takoyaki kind of shrink after the first bite. LOVE!!!!

 


The other think we ordered was the Croyaki (A fish-shaped croissant/pastry with red bean filling) The croyaki was also gooodddd. Skin is crunchy and chewy, glazed but not too sweet and the red bean filling is sweet and smooth. I never like red bean paste in Jakarta but this one... me likey!!! The pastry was sweet and buttery, deadly combo.


We went for a walk for like 4 hours (my feet ached so muchh that day) and ended up in Shibuya. Shibuya is one of Tokyo's popular area consisting in mostly shops or shopping centres. The area is very hip and alive. This area has that ultra modern Tokyo feel, the neon lights, the giant screen, the people and the music are very overwhelming yet I feel in place.

Off all the travelling I've done till now, Tokyo is the first one that makes me overwhelmed. It's like damnnnn so many things to do, so many shops to check out yet so little time. Shibuya is my biggest regret... I should've spare one whole day to explore the Omotesando/Harajuku/Shibuya area since IMO it was my favorite part of Tokyo. Not like Indonesia, shopping in Tokyo means wandering around in a certain area, getting in and out shops on various small but medium high building and shopping malls. There are plenty of shopping malls but the size is relatively small compared to Jakarta's.. I think each shopping malls (or maybe department store is a better term) has different and unique item/brand, therefore checking them one by one is a must. Not to mention all the unique stores and also cute cafes around the area.. Seriously, do not repeat my mistake and spare more time to explore these areas.


One of my must try list in Tokyo is Maisen Tonkotsu, said to be the best tonkotsu place is Tokyo. As an avid pork fans, it has been my mission to experience yummy tonkotsu in Japan. After a long and thorough googling, we finally found Maisen Tonkotsu. We accidentaly got lost because we were confused of the result of Google Maps search and the info given by Ratu Lebah. Finally, we realized that Google Maps result and Ratu Lebah's direction is not the same place, it's 2 different branch. So STUPID --" We ended up at Shibuya branch of Tonkotsu Maisen at the Shibuya Hikarie Building.

The restaurant is located at the dining floor in the Shibuya Hikarie building. Place itself was small like any other place in Japan, service is good and attentive but staff's English skill could be better.

Kurobuta Pork Katsu (3000 JPY)

What's special here is the kurobuta pork. Kurobuta pork is the top pork in Japan, the meat was tender but not full of fat. No smell whatsoever and yes it was so tender. It feels like eating chicken breast but more tender. Downside, I find it lack of seasoning. IMO.... Katsusei's (a tonkotsu restaurant in Jakarta) actually tastes better!!!


Katsudon (1700 JPY)

Another menu we tried there is the Katsudon. I pick the second most expensive pork and cooked with egg and sauce... Yes it is good but again not special. I dunno if it was because I was too tired to enjoy the meal but the meal didn't leave an impression :(


Shibuya Crossing

On the way back to the hotel, we stopped by a coffee shop, 24/7 coffee roasters. I think I read somewhere that this coffee shop is nice. The interior is kinda dark but comfy. Simple yet homey, not pretentious or heavy on decor like some of Jakarta's coffee shop


Milk Coffee (400 JPY)

This is my first encounter with Japan coffe. First impression, their coffee is smooth and light. No acidity or overwhelming bitterness. Somehow it tastes "liquid" I am lacking vocabulary to describe coffee (please forgive me)



Hotcake with fresh strawberries, strawberry sauce and yoghurt sauce

Japanese pancake has different consistency than the usual american pancake we have at Pancious. It is thick but more heavy and dense yet smooth. Sometimes, when we have thick pancake it will be dry and hard to swallow. This pancake is dense but smooth like typical japanese cake. If only the toppings are a bit bolder, this pancake would be perfect. 

Pigging (the act of becoming a pig) in Japan is quite easy. At the road leading to our hotel, we made the last stop for the day, a ramen store. I don't know the ramen restaurant name but it was steps away from the Asakusabashi Station. Just turn right after the exit and go across the road.



Seriously I couldn't even remember what I ordered. The first picture is the clear soup one. Ramen is cooked in front of us (and without the excessive yelling). Soup is light but salty, I don't really like it even though the soup is rich and flavorful but I just don't like it. The second pics was the aka ramen (spicy ramen). IT WAS YUMMMM!!!! The warm soup drove the chill of Tokyo night immediately. Love the heavy and spicy soup, the bamboo shoots and scallions give the soup some fresh and earthy flavors and the egg was cooked perfectly. Damn... how can a random ramen restaurant serves ramen this good. Seriously, way better than all those ramen restaurants flocking in Jakarta's malls...


That's the end of my second day in Japan. Next.. Tsukiji Fish Market!!! 

Monday, November 18, 2013

Publico

Heading to South Area! Senopati/Suryo/Wolter Monginsidi area has been known as Jakarta hot spot. A place where new trendy upmarket eateries established every day. This post, I'm going to share about Publico. A place that was once THE trendy place to dine (now the throne has been passed to Cacaote). I actually planned to go to Cacaote but since the place was still closed (it was 11.30 on a Sunday!) I change my destination and went across the road to Publico.


The place was cool! America 1920, has a resemblance with Tin Pan Alley.  Industrial decor seems to be very popular nowadays. The dining area is on the second floor so u need to get on the stairs. Thick heavy sofas facing the walls and metal furniture for the middle area. I love the place! It's artsy, it's classy and it is SEXY.



The food:
1. Creamy Smoked Scallop Spaghetti (Rp. 80K)


Divine! One of the best pasta I've ever had. It's creamy, it's full of flavors, it's elegant and the best thing is... quite a big portion! Very satisfied with this dish. The scallops were fresh and sauteed perfectly, pasta is al dente and cream sauce is oh so velvety creamy yummylicious.

2. Valrhona Mars Bar


Yummyfuckinglicious!!! Sinfully delicious! Smooth and creamy chocolate mousse with caramel sauce and candied peanuts, served cold. The combination of chocolate, nuts and caramel is perfect! Not too sweet that u want to vomit after the first bite but just enough sweetness to make u smile and be happy la la la la..


Ice Peach Tea


Latte

A very nice lunch on a hot sunday afternoon. Will come back for more, ASAP!

Rating: 8/10
Location : Jl. Suryo, Kebayoran Lama.

Monday, August 26, 2013

Bangkok Delish Part 3


Samurai Burger and Fried Chicken from McD

Burger, sooo yummy! Maybe it's because I never try pork burger before but trust me it's addictive. The fried chicken is more crispy than Indonesia's but less spicy and flavorfull. The chili sauce is NOTHING compared to Indonesia's...



Meiji Plain Milk and Rare Cheese from Farm Design (Central World)

Meiji milk is ohhh sooo creammyyy. Love love love it. The rare cheese is also yummy! Too bad the blueberry topping is a bit bitter, dunno why.


Oyster Omellete (Platinum Zone 2 Food Court)

The best during my trip to Bangkok. The omellete is eggy and fragrant and juicy and oily and nom nom nom 


Pork Mixed Rice (Platinum Zone2 Food Court)

Something is wrong with this dish. The pork, no good. Chewy and tasteless. The gravy is so sweet, I couldn't finish it.


Mixed Thai Dessert (Platinum Zone 2 Food Court)

Mixed small bites with mung bean filling covered in jelly, so so and nothing special.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Bistronomy

After 2 months hiatus, i'm back patients!!!!



My lil sis has been nagging me lately, forcing me to post more blog. It's a way to keep an image of you koko she said (sooo comm student...)  Soooo I finally build the will to post about.. BISTRONOMY




 It's not really brand new in Jakarta dining scene but definitely one of the most happening right now. Located in the posh kebayoran baru area where all the cute/yummy/pricey resto are flourishing, this place certainly intend to be THE romantic place to go.



Decorated as a french bistro with a garden/smoking area, the place is sooo relaxing. I happened to go there on a sunday afternoon and it was a super chilaxing.

The food:
1. Chicken Steak Jalapeno Teriyaki Sauce (Rp. 85.000)


First impression, cute! Deboned and butterflied chicken thighs, pan fried till golden brown with spicy teriyaki sauce and sweet potato fries. Chicken is superbly cooked. Crunchy on the outside while maintaining it's juicyness inside. Sauce is perfect, a touch of asia in a western dish, well done. Sweet potato fries.. well what can I say, it's sweet potato fries. Verdict: YUMMYLICIOUS

2. Braised Pork Belly (Rp. 120.000)


Braised pork belly with spicy oyster sauce with rice and veggies. Hmm... Meat is good, tender and moist. Sauce a bit weird for me, not much of a different if I change the sauce with supermarket thai sweet and spicy sauce. Presentation is beautiful but taste not so good.

3. Vanilla Gelato (Rp. 35.000)


The resemblance to Diamond's vanilla ice cream is astonishing.

I think this place has it all. The yummy food, the beautiful ambiance and the great service. A bit pricey but price don't lie :) Perfect for dates!!

Rating: 7.5/10
Jl. Ciranjang, Kebayoran Baru