Pages

Showing posts with label pork. Show all posts
Showing posts with label pork. Show all posts

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Lost in Japan: Tokyo - Part 2

Another post from Tokyo!!!!!

Sleeping in Tokyo is so comfy. Maybe because I was too tired from all the walking the night before, or maybe the cool weather? One thing for sure I didn't get up until 9 A.M. Truthfully, I'm not those holiday-nazi (read: Dr Cakra) who wakes up early morning in a vacation for the sake of visiting all the places in the itineray. I'm more laid back, kinda lazy I might say LOL

So after a long process of waking up and taking a shower, I was ready for the first full day in Tokyo. Destination: Ueno Park - Hanami

But first... BREAKFAST!!!!!!


Deef fried chopped potatoes and rice balls with ham from Lawson

Just steps from Yanagibashi Hotel, we found this fast food kinda place (small joint, vending machine to order, cheap) that sells gyudon, curry and other japanese set menu. At first I thought it was some random personally owned restaurant, later I found out that it was Matsuya, a japanese fast food brand like Yoshinoya and Sukiya. Ordering here is pretty easy (my first time using japanese vending ordering machine), I'll jot down the steps below


1. Find the button to change the language into English.
2. Browse the menu first using the touchscreen interface. Every menu has a clear picture and short english description
3. Put your money into the machine (you can use coins and 1000 JPY note)
4. Choose the food by using the touchscreen interface.
5. After the machine make sure that correct payment has been made, it will give you the change and print out small tickets containing your order.
6. Give the ticket to the waiter

Let's get straight to the point. IMO Matsuya is yummm. Gyudon and curry quality is the same or maybe better than Sushi Tei in Jakarta. Waiting time is less than 10 minutes. Refillable water provided using jug. Food portion is big (If you are not that hungry or a girl with less apettite than me, I suggest you order the smallest possible portion)


 One of Matsuya's best seller - Gyudon (stir fry sliced beef in soy sauce with onion, grated turnip, scallion and soft boiled egg) The flavor is well balanced, rice a bit mushy and need a bit more shoyu. Break the egg for some gooey goodness, mix well with the rice and meat. The messier the better.


 Rice with minced meat in red sauce and a sunny side egg

The red sauce is a bit spicy, so so far from the chilies and sambals from Indonesia. IMO, the combination is off, I don't think I'll ever order this dish again.

After breakfast, we were rushing to Ueno Park for Cherry Blossoms viewing. From Asakusabashi station, we change twice using the JR Pass. First go to Akihabara Station using the Sobu Line (Yellow) and then take Yamanote Line to Ueno Station. All of the trip is covered by JR Pass so our super expensive JR Pass was very usefull. Ueno Park is located right in front of Ueno Station.  All you need to do is exit to the gate and walk across the road.

By the time we arrived, Ueno Park was already crowded. Since it was also Japanese's holiday week, the place was super packed!!  From grandmas and grandpas but also kids from Kindergarten to university students. The view is exactly what I've imagined from watching all those japanese anime, movie and manga. Lots of people are already sitting under the Sakura trees with some beers, snacks and bento boxes. This Hanami is really unique! Being a very clean and organized country, even though it was a mess and packed, there's no litter anywhere. The park's administration provides many many garbage dump site and categorized by the type of trash. Coollll



The sakura hasn't reached the full bloom when we went there. Many trees are still in their winter form, bald and dead. Fortunately, some spots has already bloomed, not bad for photos LOL I gotta admit, it was beautiful. Even though my first sakura encounter is not that impressive, I was still awed by the beauty. It's very Japan, the flower was delicate and beautiful, not eye catching like roses but more subtle and soft. It was magical...

 Snack sold inside the park


Ueno Park is quite big.. There are paths lined with sakura trees, small shrine and some picnic area. There are also a medium sized temple near the park. Do remember to get the free Ueno Park Guide since it will help a lot during walking around the area.I think there are more than one museum in the area, if you guys have the time I think it'll be good. We had to choose between visiting the museum or visiting the zoo. Sorry museum, Zoo with Panda won us LOL


To visit the Panda, just go straight from the park entrance, at the end of the road you'll find the Ueno Zoo. The zoo is not that big but very well organized. The star of the zoo was the Pandassss. The first thing we do is find the Panda Exhibit and it was the first exhibit from the entrance. We had to queue to get closer to the exhibit. Worth the money and the wait... Not long after watching Kungfu Panda, we can see 2 real pandas at Ueno Zoo. Too bad the panda was sleeping when we visited but still the stupid pose Panda has when sleeping is soooo C.U.T.E

After Ueno Park, we went to visit the Meiji Jingu Shrine. Meiji Shrine is a shrine dedicated to the deified spirits of Meiji Emperor and the Empress Shoken. (Source: Japan Guide) We entered the shrine from the entrance closer to Yoyogi Station (use Hyperdia) It was the wrong decision... It was so far and the roads are not asphalt so it was very tiring. It took us around 20 minutes from the entrance to reach the main building. It only took us 5 minutes to get out through the north entrance near Meiji Jingu Station.


I am not a temple/shrine afficionado so I didn't find it that interesting. Compared to Hongkong's or Bangkok's temple, Japanese temple are rather simple. The interesting features are the Torii Gate (A mark to separate sacred grounds from profane world) and the purification trough (A sink like structure with water fountains and wooden/bamboo laddle, it was used to purify the hand and mouth of shrine visitors before entering the shrine's main building). Some shrines have big Ema (A hanger for wooden plates on which prayers are written) and also sells various amulets. The temple building itself is quite simple, maybe related to the different concept of Shinto-ism and Buddhism.

When we visited the Meiji Shrine, there are two wedding ceremonies happening at the same time. It was such a rare opportunities to watch a traditional wedding ceremony at the temple. For a moment there I felt "serene".


After taking a little walk around the shrine, we walk towards the north entrance.. Found this huge sake barrels. The Sake Barrels are offerings from various people and companies around Japan. The barrels were sooooo cool. Feels like living in an anime (please forgive the geek in me)


Next... Omotesando!!!!

Just outside the Meiji Jingu lies the great street of Omotesando. This part of Tokyo is my fave. Too bad I didn't much time here, If I have the chance to go back to Tokyo, I'll dedicate a whole day to explore this neighbourhood.

The streets are full with cafes, shops and department stores. People are everywhere and do pay attention to where you walk or you'll be hit. Let the food hunt begins!!!!


This is The Gindaco, a popular takoyaki (A ball shaped fried/grilled snack made of flour, eggs, octopus and topped with shaved dried bonito/katsuoboshi and mayo) joint around Japan. My first and best encounter of Takoyaki during the whole trip. The takoyaki is big and a bit crispy at the outside but gooey at the inside. What I love about their takoyaki is the takoyaki doesn't lose its shape when you eat or bite it. The other takoyaki kind of shrink after the first bite. LOVE!!!!

 


The other think we ordered was the Croyaki (A fish-shaped croissant/pastry with red bean filling) The croyaki was also gooodddd. Skin is crunchy and chewy, glazed but not too sweet and the red bean filling is sweet and smooth. I never like red bean paste in Jakarta but this one... me likey!!! The pastry was sweet and buttery, deadly combo.


We went for a walk for like 4 hours (my feet ached so muchh that day) and ended up in Shibuya. Shibuya is one of Tokyo's popular area consisting in mostly shops or shopping centres. The area is very hip and alive. This area has that ultra modern Tokyo feel, the neon lights, the giant screen, the people and the music are very overwhelming yet I feel in place.

Off all the travelling I've done till now, Tokyo is the first one that makes me overwhelmed. It's like damnnnn so many things to do, so many shops to check out yet so little time. Shibuya is my biggest regret... I should've spare one whole day to explore the Omotesando/Harajuku/Shibuya area since IMO it was my favorite part of Tokyo. Not like Indonesia, shopping in Tokyo means wandering around in a certain area, getting in and out shops on various small but medium high building and shopping malls. There are plenty of shopping malls but the size is relatively small compared to Jakarta's.. I think each shopping malls (or maybe department store is a better term) has different and unique item/brand, therefore checking them one by one is a must. Not to mention all the unique stores and also cute cafes around the area.. Seriously, do not repeat my mistake and spare more time to explore these areas.


One of my must try list in Tokyo is Maisen Tonkotsu, said to be the best tonkotsu place is Tokyo. As an avid pork fans, it has been my mission to experience yummy tonkotsu in Japan. After a long and thorough googling, we finally found Maisen Tonkotsu. We accidentaly got lost because we were confused of the result of Google Maps search and the info given by Ratu Lebah. Finally, we realized that Google Maps result and Ratu Lebah's direction is not the same place, it's 2 different branch. So STUPID --" We ended up at Shibuya branch of Tonkotsu Maisen at the Shibuya Hikarie Building.

The restaurant is located at the dining floor in the Shibuya Hikarie building. Place itself was small like any other place in Japan, service is good and attentive but staff's English skill could be better.

Kurobuta Pork Katsu (3000 JPY)

What's special here is the kurobuta pork. Kurobuta pork is the top pork in Japan, the meat was tender but not full of fat. No smell whatsoever and yes it was so tender. It feels like eating chicken breast but more tender. Downside, I find it lack of seasoning. IMO.... Katsusei's (a tonkotsu restaurant in Jakarta) actually tastes better!!!


Katsudon (1700 JPY)

Another menu we tried there is the Katsudon. I pick the second most expensive pork and cooked with egg and sauce... Yes it is good but again not special. I dunno if it was because I was too tired to enjoy the meal but the meal didn't leave an impression :(


Shibuya Crossing

On the way back to the hotel, we stopped by a coffee shop, 24/7 coffee roasters. I think I read somewhere that this coffee shop is nice. The interior is kinda dark but comfy. Simple yet homey, not pretentious or heavy on decor like some of Jakarta's coffee shop


Milk Coffee (400 JPY)

This is my first encounter with Japan coffe. First impression, their coffee is smooth and light. No acidity or overwhelming bitterness. Somehow it tastes "liquid" I am lacking vocabulary to describe coffee (please forgive me)



Hotcake with fresh strawberries, strawberry sauce and yoghurt sauce

Japanese pancake has different consistency than the usual american pancake we have at Pancious. It is thick but more heavy and dense yet smooth. Sometimes, when we have thick pancake it will be dry and hard to swallow. This pancake is dense but smooth like typical japanese cake. If only the toppings are a bit bolder, this pancake would be perfect. 

Pigging (the act of becoming a pig) in Japan is quite easy. At the road leading to our hotel, we made the last stop for the day, a ramen store. I don't know the ramen restaurant name but it was steps away from the Asakusabashi Station. Just turn right after the exit and go across the road.



Seriously I couldn't even remember what I ordered. The first picture is the clear soup one. Ramen is cooked in front of us (and without the excessive yelling). Soup is light but salty, I don't really like it even though the soup is rich and flavorful but I just don't like it. The second pics was the aka ramen (spicy ramen). IT WAS YUMMMM!!!! The warm soup drove the chill of Tokyo night immediately. Love the heavy and spicy soup, the bamboo shoots and scallions give the soup some fresh and earthy flavors and the egg was cooked perfectly. Damn... how can a random ramen restaurant serves ramen this good. Seriously, way better than all those ramen restaurants flocking in Jakarta's malls...


That's the end of my second day in Japan. Next.. Tsukiji Fish Market!!! 

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Lost in Bandung 2015: Part 2

Another Bandung post ladies and gentlemen hehehehe

Ceritanya, Desember kemarin gw pergi ke Bandung LAGI. Maklum deh ya tamu2 kebesaran dari down under balik Indo, jadi nya kita... holiday bersamaaa yihaaaaa

I will not bore you with unimportant details about my holiday BUT I will share a lot of about the food we had.


 Paikut goreng lada garam 

Pokatiam is a rather small eatery in Pasirkaliki (Next to the infamous Sosis Baso Pasirkaliki) Serving casual chinese food with affordable price yet more than decent taste. Note: HARAM alert! They serve many many pork dishes and they are quite yummy


Nasi Goreng Lap Chiong

OH SO GOOD! Everything was spot on


Chasiu Madu

I didn't expect the roasted char siu with honey would be this good but I was surprised! The meat is tender and flavorful, yummmm


Pisang Coklat Keju

This snack is sold on a street cart outside Sosis Baso Pasirkaliki. The banana is deep fried then served with load of chocolate rice, condensed milk and cheese. So sinfully delicious! Stop counting the calories, just enjoy :p


 Nasi Bebek

Hmm mediocre.... Well after all we come for the view and the experience, not the food


Nasi Timbel

Another menu from Dusun Bambu, mediocre


This is from Lawang Wangi Art Space. A very classy and artsy space for art exhibition. Actually the food here is not bad but then again, it is nothing special. Well executed, but not special

Sunday, August 02, 2015

Noodle Diary: Part 2

Holaaaaa let's do another noodle showdown, shall we?

First Contender is Bakmi Aloi

Bakmi Aloi is a typical Palembang style noodle. The noodle is thin and slighly chewy a bit sweet. Usually, the toppings are minced pork or chicken, chasiu pork and mushrooms with some beansprouts. I don't really like this type of noodle but Aloi is an exception. :)


Located in Muwardi Street, Grogol area, my first encounter with Aloi was back in college. I remember some of the girls in my college craved for Aloi for the sake of the handsome boss LOL. The place used to be small, consists only 5 or maybe 5 tables. Now the place is HUGE and they have many branches across town.


Aside from the noodle, Aloi serves yummy side dishes. My favorite is half portion of pig kidney and blood, heavenly delicious! Add some minced pork pork for 10K, worth every penny. Last, if u a deep fried addict, order the ngo hiong (pork roll in beancurd skin) YUMMY!

Next... Bakmi Aheng Mangga Besar/Bakmi Ahau

I know it's confusing but I'll try to explain...


I found this noodle in Mangga Besar back in my intern days in Husada Hospital. A friend introduced me to this small stall/carriage at an alley near Cucu Foto in Mangga Besar. It is super dirty but always packed with customers. Apparently, a similar stall appears every night at the same Mangga Besar Street near Lokasari area under a different name, Bakmi Ahau. I'm not really sure about the different name but let's focus on the noodle :)

This noodle is thick and chewy, typical mie karet. The topping is chasiu pork with some greens. Taste is mainly sweet, a bit savory. Noodle is super oily so practice your chopsticks skills folk

The highlight of this noodle is the fried meatball. It is so different from the other meatballs i found. Rather sweet and hard but addictive... The noodle, i don't really like it but combined with the meatballs, worth trying!

That's it folks, hope u guys drool :)

Follow my instagram doc_babi for daily updates on my culinary journey

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Abura Soba Yamatoten

Abura Soba Yamatoten is a japanese soba restaurant in Pantai Indah Kapuk area... Unlike it's predecessors, Abura Soba Yamatoten specializes in Soba. I am not a soba fans, my fave type of japanese noodle is actually udon. When this place became huge is social media, I wonder why people gone crazy over soba. Sooo, I decided to give it a try with my sis and mom

The place is very PIK. Renovated shophouse with minimal decor and simple modern japanese touches here and there. I don't think the place can handle more than 50 guesses (no wonder people always queues outside).

I'm so sorry, I kindo forget the names of the dishes but no worries, i'll try my best to describe each and every dish. The soba is handmade and produced fresh daily by the chefs, using authentic and high quality ingredients. I love the consistency of the soba which is different from the soba we usually find in Japanese restaurant. The soba is like ramen but thicker and more chewy.


The soba is served with bamboo shoots, onsen tamago (runny half boiled egg), nori shreds, finely chopped spring onions and pork slices. This is the basic version... Noodle consistency is beautiful. Mix the soba with all the ingredients, put seasonings as instructed (chili oil and vinegar) and voila, creamy gooey savoury japanese noodle. It reminds me a lot of pasta carbonara. I can't say it's not delicious but it is not my cup of tea. This dish is something new to my palate and I really enjoyed it BUT after finishing half of the soba, I found it boring, two dimensional and in the end a bit too creamy (and not in a good way)


This is another version of the soba, using soybean paste base sauce. Taste more like chachiang mian or korea's jajjangmyeun. Ugh... Hate this noodle, sweet and pungent. Big NO NO


Last one is their rice dish. Abura Soba Yamatoten serves a limited variety of japanese dishes. When we went there, Mom doesn't want to eat noodle so we ordered this one and only rice dish. Basically a bowl of rice with grilled pork belly slices on top. The pork belly is very oily, then it is served on a bowl of rice with NOTHING else other than garnish. I wonder how people can enjoy this dish. Sure the pork is good but come on... Rice and pork slices only?

There are many other places in PIK that serves better food, I don't think I'll be coming back here...

Rating: 6/10
Location: PIK, near the JORR entrance

Follow my instagram @doc_babi for live update of my culinary journey

Friday, May 15, 2015

Gluttony Alert : Muara Karang

Holaaaaaa patients :) How u doin baby? Since I'm not really in the mood for transferring pics from my phone, I'll post some of the foodpic stocks in my computer. This is a brand new series of post. The "Gluttony Alert" series. If the "Lost in ....." series tells you about my travelling stories, the "Gluttony Alert" series will focus on all the yummies in a certain area.

Dr B's Journal has been my personal space for 8 years. I've wrote so many things in this blog, not only food reviews. I don't have much spare time like when I was in college so the number of post is very limited but I tried to make it as "me" as possible :)

So.. for the first post of Gluttony Alert, say hello to Muara Karang.

Why? Because it's my backyard :) And.. It's on my top list of places with good food hehe... Meet the yummies of Muara Karang



Bihun Kepala Ikan (Vermicelli with fish head soup)

Located in Pasar Muara Karang, this is a very crowded breakfast spot. Turn left at the Toyota Dealership from Muara Karang main street. U'll find this spot at the right side, in a food court in front of Aroma Seafood. I don't really like this dish since it's a bit too sour for my taste. In fact, the only memorable thing of this dish is the sourness.


Kuo Tie

This is a kuo tie (jiao zi) or gyoza from a small stall run by a chinese lady. The lady can only speak a little Bahasa Indonesia, so I guess it's pretty safe when I declare it authentic chinese dumplings. The skin is too think, minimal filling and too much greens. I like my kuo tie meaty and juicy --"

Another dish from the food court in Pasar Muara Karang. Mamak style (belacan) fried noodle. Yes. it resembles Malaysian cuisines yet the enci enci (chinese lady) doesn't announce it as Malaysian food. It's a dish from Medan that resembles Malaysian cuisines. I kinda like this noodle... Taste is bold, I can feel the heat and the savouryness of the noodle, seafood is fresh and portion is perfect for breakfast.


Sek Ba by Kuo Tie Shantung

There's a kuo tie place called Kuo Tie Shantung in Muara Karang. Opens around 9 P.M. in front of A&W Muara Karang. LOVE THE PORK INNARDS!!! The sweet and herby black sauce surprisingly goes well with rice. Order the tongue and tofu, those are my favorites.


Kuo Tie by Koe Tie Shantung

Kuo Tie is pan fried chinese dumplings. The characteristic of a kuo tie is the fried crispy part at the base of the dumpling and moist chewy part at the top of the dumplings. The deep fried ones are just fakes :p Kuo Tie Shantung serves on of the best kuo tie in Jakarta, recommended.


Rainbow Sandwich by Eng's

A very popular restaurant amongts enci enci and abege, serving affordable dishes all day long. The sandwich tastes really good! Toast is crispy, the dressing is enough to moist the dry sandwich but not too soggy. I think it only costs me around 18K :)


Steamed Chicken Rice with Free Range Chicken Egg by Nasi Tim Pasar Pagi

LEGENDARY!!!!! Some said (and I said) it's the best nasi tim (steamed rice) ever. Period. The fragrant rice, creamy and soft. It's like ur tummy is being awakened by the warm southern wind.... Oh so good! Tips: put some fish sauce into the hot steamed rice, adds another layer of goodness into the dish.


Stir Fried Pig Kidney with Onions and Celery by Chef Achun

This is one of Chef Achun's signature dish and one of my fave food ever. Pig kidney is a delicate ingredient that requires a certain way of containing and cooking to make it tastes delicious. The kidney has to be fresh, cleaned properly and eaten right after it is cooked. You have to be careful not to overcook the kidney or it'll get hard and a bit bitter. When it is cooked properly. the texture would be slightly chewy, creamy and melts in your mouth. Oh... blissful...

So, how about it patients? Come and visit Muara Karang to get your hungry belly entertained, satisfaction guaranteed. Give me a holler on my instagram @doc_babi I'll be glad to answer all your question :) See yaaaa